makethislast

a love meditation

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on October 29, 2009

May I be peaceful, happy, and light in body and spirit.

May he/she be peaceful, happy, and light in body and spirit.

May they be peaceful, happy, and light in body and spirit.

 

May I be safe and free from injury.

May he/she be safe and free from injury.

May they be safe and free from injury.

 

May I be free from anger, afflictions, fear, and anxiety.

May he/she be free from anger, afflictions, fear, and anxiety.

May they be free from anger, afflictions, fear, and anxiety.

– Thich Nhat Hanh, Teachings on Love

October’s been a particularly difficult month for me so I’d like to wrap it up on a positive note.

Thich Nhat Hanh is a Zen master and peacemaker. I’ve seen his name appear on a few separate occasions, sometimes accompanied by his work and others simply as reference. I forget how I came across this specific title of his but I’m enjoying the book. When I read the meditation above, I felt myself internalizing its words. I read and re-read it a few times before posting here.

Hanh says to practice this meditation first on yourself (“I”) and then on others (“he/she” and “they”). I think this struck me on such a personal level because this is exactly what I’ve been grappling with recently. How does one let go and…and…and…(what am I trying to say here?)…be free?

Start by looking inside oneself. Dig deep. Locate and eliminate any and all negativity – emotionally, mentally, and physically. No good comes from it festering in the dark. Now bring it outside towards the light. Lay it out on the grass. Bathe yourself in the warmth of the sun. The most liberating part is next.

Ready?

Set.

Let go.

Live your life.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

