makethislast

wedding

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on November 1, 2009

This past weekend, one of my closest friends invited me to go wedding dress shopping with her. In the hour we spent picking her dress, I found myself admiring my friend’s relationship with her fiance. They’ve been together for almost 10 years, since they were in high school. They have their disagreements (just as every couple does) but, as she said to me, “you don’t walk away” from a solid relationship. You work through the problems and find (or create) solutions that work for both individuals. As she tried one dress after another, I secretly admitted to myself that I want a relationship as solid as theirs.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand: wedding.

I think a wedding is one of the most sacred ceremonies possible to perform. A wedding is a life-long union between two people, both in a physical and spiritual sense. It’s a commitment made between two people who love, understand, and respect each other.

Up to this point, I’ve only attended weddings in my family because most of my friends aren’t getting married yet (thankfully). This one marks the first non-relative wedding I would’ve gone to…if it weren’t for the Peace Corps. Honestly, I wanted this wedding, between two of my good friends, to be the first I attended as an adult. I know their love will permeate the air on their wedding day, sharing such a special occasion with their family and friends.

I think that’s how a wedding should be. The love between the two people is so strong that it’s almost tangible to those in attendance.

Lucky for me, I witnessed his proposal to her in person. He asked me to help capture it on video for them. It happened almost a year ago. He created a scavenger hunt around the Mall in DC for her that concluded with a proposal on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial. It was beautiful.

Here’s to my two wonderful friends. For inviting me along in the process leading up to their wedding knowing that I won’t be to attend the real ceremony. I’m so happy for you two. Congratulations!

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

