makethislast

Peace Corps: Waiting for Reporting Instructions to Staging

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on January 26, 2010

I’m not where I was a year ago. I’m not yet where I will be a year from now.

Joy, current PCV in Morocco

I found this quote completely appropriate whilst reading a current PCV’s blog.

This morning, PC/Morocco invitees received an email. It contained a letter for the invitee, a letter for family and friends, a survey for the homestay family to get to know us, and a survey for language learning.

I’m supposed to receive instructions on how to report to Staging/Orientation within a week. Updated timeline:

  • March 1st: Staging in Philadelphia
  • March 2nd: Depart to Morocco

Since the last PC update, I’ve kinda built a dam against my emotions related to departure, and the 27 months immediately following. I’ve thought about PC now and again but have been able to keep it at an elbow’s distance. My quarter-life vacation in California has been amazing (to say the least) filled with wonderful people and positive energy.

This morning’s email formed a crack in that dam. A trickle of emotions are flowing out, more than I wanted. I’m going to seal up that crack and keep my emotions at bay for a bit longer. I’m not ready to let the floodgates of emotions out just yet.

Then again…

PC has been my goal for so long, I’m excited that March is approaching. According to the email, there are approximately 65 PC Trainees (PCTs, a new acronym!). It’ll be comforting to be around others who are experiencing this transition period and awesome to step into this life-changing experience together. I’m excited to meet everyone.

Without a doubt, I will not be here a year from now. Where will you be?

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

