makethislast

profanity unnecessary

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on February 19, 2010

I try not to cuss on a regular basis because

  1. I was raised to not use profanity at home. It was considered disrespectful and tactless.
  2. Even if #1 didn’t apply, my friends and I aren’t in middle or high school anymore. It’s no longer “normal” or “cool” to insert profanity in between every other word when we talk.
  3. There are so many other more descriptive ways to express yourself, even if you are gabbing about others.
  4. I’ve found it’s more effective to discuss behavior instead of call someone names. Nothing constructive comes out of the latter.
  5. I want to expand my vocabulary.
  6. It’s still disrespectful and tactless, let’s throw in tasteless too.

Of course, there are occasions when cussing enables me to adequately translate my feelings into words. Such moments are usually filled with high emotions and significant frustrations.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

