makethislast

Q&A: Preparing for Peace Corps

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on February 19, 2010

An education isn’t how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It’s being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don’t.

– Anatole France

Considering my impending adventure, I’m starting a new “segment” here that’ll feature questions people ask me about Peace Corps and life overseas. I’ll post the questions the way I receive them, unedited. I’ll include my responses, too, assuming people continue to ask me questions after this post. *hint* 🙂

Question from T:

“is there alot of stuff you have to prepare before you leave? i wish pc would give more details up front…”

My response:

PC clearance (esp. medical) process was a lot more stressful. Once you accept an invitation, however, you are flooded with information about how/what to prepare. It also depends on how much time you have between accepting and departure date. I had 2.5 months so I had plenty of time to prepare mentally, emotionally, even physically. packing is the only thing I still need to do. What kind of details are you thinking about? [I’ve yet to hear back.]

Just to elaborate on that for a bit, your invitation kit contains a PCV Handbook and Assignment booklet. These provide a ton of information on what you need and should do before reporting to Staging. The closer you are to reporting to Staging, the more communication (via e-mail) you receive from PC and your placement officer.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

