makethislast

my quarter-life vacation

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on February 25, 2010

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.

– Lao-Tze

What’s this California gal been up to these 2.5 months? How has she spent her time at home? Let’s see…

I read, wrote, and rested.I watched, I listened, I learned. I spent so much time with family, hung out with longtime friends, and made new friends. I was reintroduced to Los Angeles and explored the area around my mom’s house.

During this time, I thoroughly examined each angle of my life, literally and figuratively.

I revisited my childhood, teenage, and college years as I unpacked box after box of stuff. I laugh when I think about how I used to be so adamant about keeping everything and how so many material things that once mattered no longer carry much weight now. Detaching myself from materialistic possessions is liberating; discovering that I’m making progress on my goals is encouraging.

I also did some mental and spiritual housekeeping. While it’s difficult to face oneself sometimes, it wasn’t as painful as I anticipated, likely because I did the heavy digging and lifting last year. (Yay, woot-woot! :)) This time around, I reaffirmed my foundation and focused on improving my life and self. I created new bonds, strengthened existing ones, and retired a handful of ancient ones. I want to align the different aspects of my life with my being as a whole – essentially, to consciously live consistently – and this exercise further enabled me to achieve that objective.

My quarter-life takeaway: Life is all about choices. It’s the choices you make and, conversely, the ones you don’t make that determine who you become as a person.

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

