makethislast

Ramadan

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on March 22, 2010

Today:

  • Language lessons
  • Community analysis
  • Interview sole (male) nurse at sbitar (health clinic)
  • Played with host siblings
  • English-Tashleheit lessons with host siblings

For cross-cultural discussion, the class talked about Ramadan, which falls on the month of August this year. Takeaways:

  • Fasting sounds difficult but I’d like to try it. Eating before dawn and after dusk doesn’t sound all that difficult. I liken that exercise to a busy day at work in which I forget to eat lunch during the day and eat a large dinner at night.
  • Cross-gender greetings may be more strict, i.e., men and women will exhibit even less physical contact than when they interact outside of Ramadan, in that they will verbally greet but not physically embrace the other gender.
  • Ramadan may be difficult for Moroccans because they’re used to eating at lest 5 times at day (breakfast, midmorning tea, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner) and consuming large amounts of sugar and caffeine on a regular basis.

Other ramblings for today:

I woke up with a scratchy throat. That’s definitely proof that I talked a lot this past weekend. Always good to catch up and get to know others better. Yay!

Henna – I’ve had it for three days now and I’m ready for it to come off. This confirmed my dislike for tattoos (especially on myself). I don’t want enough of a design/art/any other mark to get it permanently inked into my skin. On the flip side, henna’s a good conversation starter, particularly with local (older) women. They notice it quickly and embrace foreigners who take on this part of their culture.

During class today, I had an “I’m in Morocco, living, learning, and speaking in a new language!” moment. There’s something awesome to be said about this experience, even if most of it so far has been in a classroom. I want to learn Arabic script and French!

I received two protective bracelets before I left home, both from my family. One says “Datum amore. Ad defendendum.” The other is made of (ceramic?) beads that were blessed/prayed over at a Buddhist temple. I wear the first everyday and keep the second close to me always.

Food at my home stay and during CBT in general has been delicious. Meat, fish, poultry, vegetables, and fruits. Sweets and tea. Hooray for being an omnivore that will try anything at least once! Yum yum yum.

All four kids plus mother in my host family are brushing their teeth!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tiffany Hsu said, on April 2, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Awww chica, I miss you but you sound like you’re having a great time! I’m sending you a care package when I have time…let me know what you want!


Leave a Reply

