makethislast

Peace Corps: a public oath, service, and volunteer

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on May 5, 2010

I, [insert my name], do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic, that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same, that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion, and that I will well and faithfully discharge my duties in the Peace Corps, serving Morocco to the best of my abilities and maintaining the respect due its people.

– Peace Corps Oath of Service

I’m officially a PCV!

I woke up early and got ready to swear in. Seeing as dress up occasions come far and few in between during PC, most everyone cleaned up and put on their finest/dressiest garbs. I definitely drank in the moment – I enjoyed getting ready and helping other ladies get ready.

Swearing in ceremony was brief but meaningful. The US Ambassador to Morocco spoke to us, along with the governor of Ouarzazat and the PC Director. 3 PCTs spoke – one for Tashleheit, one for Darija, and one for Tamazeit. We all repeated the oath after the US Ambassador and the CD congratulated us as PCVs.

The reception was nice – yummy banana milk and sweets! I’m happy that our entire stage took a big group photo.

After lunch, I joined other new PCVs on a tour of the Atlas Movie Studio. It’s too late now so more on that experience in another post.

Tonight was…a blur in the sense that everyone was trying to be everywhere and do everything at once. It’s quite possibly the last time the Health and Environment sectors of my stage will be together in a formal (training) session throughout the next two years of service.

I didn’t get a chance to get to know everyone well here but I am happy knowing I have made good, solid friends during PST. I know I will see them again and that we’ll hang out during our two years of service.

It’s 1:38am and I’m waking up early to pack.

Here’s to the next two years! 🙂

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tara said, on May 10, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Congrats! How exciting. I got really happy when reading your blog when you mentioned banana milk. That was one of my favorite things growing up as a kid in Saudi Arabia! I sometimes make it in the USA but its not the same. Good luck big!


Leave a Reply

