makethislast

Gnaoua: Day 2

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on June 23, 2010

8:00 – SIDA Training of Trainers (TOT) Introduction at riad

9:30 – All PCVs meet to walk to ALCS

10:00 – Meeting at the ALCS office

12:00 – Lunch

13:30 – 17:00 – TOT for untrained PCVs at riad

17:30 – 19:00 – continue TOT for untrained PCVs at riad

Sick and bloated. My guess is my stomach’s reacting to all the junk food I ate right before bed: yogurt (the only legit food), whole bag of chips and 1/3 of a pack of chocolate-sandwich cookies. Essa always enables/encourages me to indulge in junk food. Yummy goodness (usually)!

When I wasn’t in SIDA TOT, I was curled up in bed, trying to sleep off my stomachache. I signed up for clean-up crew – team player here! No way was I ducking out of participating during any part of the event just because I’m sick! Also, since I don’t get to cook until July 1st (first day of living on my own!), I was happy to be in a big and well-stocked kitchen.

small world with a few degrees of separation: one PCV went to college with a former colleague in DC; another went to the same university as my brother and knows his good friend.

Takeaway from today’s trainings: Men need to be educated on the importance of their wife’s health with respect to their children and family. Men should not discourage their wife (or females in their household) from going to the doctor or talking about her won health.

Leave a Reply

