makethislast

Gnaoua: Day 6

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on June 27, 2010

10:00 Morning shift

15:00-15:30 – Lunch break

Highlights:

I completed the final lunch run for all the volunteers who worked at the ALCS booth.

Now I can check off “PCV party” from my list of things to do/see while in service. Haha. With work activities complete, everyone was able to relax, socialize, and have a good time this evening.

I learned how to play “Bones,” a high-stakes betting game that is played with 6 die. To start off each round, each player wagers something of sentimental value or personal significance. Then you roll the die, one roll for each die, so up to six rolls total. With two die, you need to roll a 1 and 4 to qualify yourself for that round; with the other 4 die, you want to roll the highest number possible (24) or roll the highest among all the players.

In all my previous Gnaoua blog entries, I forgot to mention my most enjoyable activity during Gnaoua: hosting and hanging out with friends from my staaj who came to Essa! The last time I saw them was during PST, which ended in early May, so its been almost two months. So much has happened in between – moving to final site, new home stay family, “work,” getting to know a new community, not having CBT-mates to experience the daily activities with you, etc. – that having this weekend to catch up was fantastic! It was also really cool to show my friends around “my” province. J

Hooray to meeting new people, making new friends, and enriching existing friendships!

Leave a Reply

