makethislast

3rd of July

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on July 3, 2010

Today, I celebrated the 4th of July with four of my province-mates. Yes, it is a day early. My province mates stopped at Aswak Asalaam and bought enough food to create an American 4th of July meal: hamburgers, hot dogs, condiments, and watermelon! At my site, we picked up a few other items: potatoes for French Fries and bread for hamburger buns.

To hold us over, I helped make a spicy rice noodle and vegetables dish. It was delicious. I’m glad I’ll be able to develop my culinary skills, or at least experiment, in the kitchen during my time here.

My house is slowly but surely coming together. I’m washing everything before making a place for it. This includes my clothes, furniture, and anything the PCV before gave me.

I’m really happy I could host people in my own place now, lHamdullah! J

Leave a Reply

