makethislast

Welcome to Agadir

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on August 8, 2010

Welcome to Agadir!

I’m usually really patient with vendors. Today I was less patient and it’s probably because I’m exhausted from traveling.

I got tired of hearing people speak French back to me after I spoke to them in Tashleheit. I got tired of telling people I don’t understand French. Granted, I know most people don’t speak Tashleheit and that most foreigners speak French but still.

At the end of the day, you need a sense of humor. Humility goes a long way.

Souk l-Hdd – biggest souk in Morocco!

  • successful shopping (clothes and produce)
  • bargaining fun (accessories)
  • free keychain!

Beach & salt water – I can enjoy this without being as easily recognizable (compared to Essa’s beach)!

  • swimming in the Atlantic Ocean
  • hanging out on Agadir’s beach
  • taking pictures to capture it all
  • ice cream – coconut chocolate chip at Ice Legend

Dinner at Mikey’s – delicious and within a PCV’s budget!

  • cheeseburger and French fries

Club hopping – part of being a PCV (and American) is doing the nightlife research!

  • English Pub (karaoke and 1, 2, 3 picture game!)
  • Actors (closed for Ramadan)
  • Factory (good music, nice venue, small dance floor)
  • Flamingo (wanted to charge us cover for Moroccan music)
  • Sofitel (free for ladies! Nicest venue! Excellent DJ! Most international crowd yet! Dancing into the early morning!)
Leave a Reply

