makethislast

religion and water

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on August 24, 2010

He that to what he sees, adds observation, and to what he reads, reflection, is on the right road to knowledge, provided that in scrutinizing the hearts of others, he neglects not his own.

– Charles Caleb Colton

Sleep spot hopping

The past few nights, I’ve been hopping from my sleeping spot on the roof, to the reclined chair/sofa in my courtyard, to my bed in my bedroom. What can I say but that the night starts off hot, cools in the early hours of the morning, then chills at dawn.

3 countries, 3 continents

Of my nuclear family, no one’s in the US right now. Mom’s en route to China/Asia, brother’s in Australia/Australia, I’m in Morocco/Africa. How amazingly awesome is this?! 🙂

Religion

I’ve never been asked so many times about my religion. Actually, let me rephrase: I’ve never been asked so many times whether I’m Muslim, and when it’s discovered that I’m not, asked whether I want to learn more about Islam. Than I have been since being in site. And Morocco.

I don’t understand why people find it so important to convert others to their respective religion. If I’m a good person living an honest life, well, is that not enough? If I’m open-minded and can respect people’s differences, than shouldn’t I be accepted for who I am? Not for who/what belief system I adhere to?

Sometimes it’s like people want me to peer out of the same window as they do. Then, just as I’m tiptoeing up to take a peek out their window, I catch them with their backs to the window doing something that completely contradicts what they were so eagerly trying to convince me to do: follow their religion because it’d solidify who I am as a person.

No, thank you, I say.I’d rather stay positive with the lens I peer out into world with now than become cynical of others because they contradict themselves. Besides, I already am a spiritual person, just in my own way.

PC equips us with a similar phrase, which can also be found in the Koran: you practice your own religion, I’ll practice my own religion. Or, in reference to cultural practices: I observe the same practices as my parents/family in America. Simple and succinct.

It’s moments like these that I appreciate so much more the diversity – in every sense of the word – that is found in America. It’s more than accepted to be friends with people of different religions, ethnicities, socioeconomic background, sexual orientation, etc. It’s eye-opening, thought-provoking. Exchanges question who you are as a person, not as someone following a faithful book. You define who you are.

Breaking fast

I broke fast with Abdullah, the security guard at the college, his wife and daughter, siblings, and nieces and nephews. It was yet another new experience. Excellent.

This family earns cool points because the more mature people/young adults, are around my age. That and they’re more educated in the academic sense than most families here. That counts because they understand the ideas I attempt to convey in speech but am not articulate enough in Tashleheit to do it well.

On top of that, tonight I witnessed something I’ve yet to: males contributing to the domestic duties. The women cooked and set the table. After the meals, the guys – Abdullah and his brother Hassan – cleared the table, brought out the tray of tea and poured for the women. At the last meal, Abdullah offered the final bite of food to his wife. She suggested they split it in half and that’s precisely what they did. How fabulous is that?!

Fatima and I got to talking when the guys were out of the room. I told her how novel it was that the men were helping out. Her response: the Koran says men should help women. Whether that actually happens depends on how men interpret the Koran in their head – some men will help their wives, a lot of men do not. Respect – that’s what it comes down to. I couldn’t agree more.

Water

Ever get tired of drinking and using water that 1) has a oily film on the surface, 2) is treated with chlorine tablets and as such having thin white, almost translucent but not, and 3) contains dirt particles in it?

I do. I hit that point today.

I know I’m fortunate enough to have running water on a mostly daily basis. Like I said, I hit the getting tired point. Perhaps I’ll pass it tomorrow. For now, I look forward to making limeade tomorrow. I wanted to tonight but, just as I was juicing the limes, the power went out. This – power outage – happens sometimes when the weather’s hot and dry.

Leave a Reply

