makethislast

paying my respects

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on September 19, 2010

Good thing I decided to visit my host family today otherwise I wouldn’t have known that an old man passed away.

I accompanied a host aunt and a few other young women to the widow’s house. There were people there  – presumably (extended) family or community members – helping with food and washing. If I understood correctly, the funeral will take place on Tuesday.

I colored with my host siblings. I confirmed that my host mother has, in fact, never been to school. She didn’t go when she was young, not even for a little bit. I asked her if she had wanted to. “Ur sng” (I don’t know), was her reply. I really hope she sees the value in education so that her children can reap benefits from something she didn’t have at their age.

Leave a Reply

