makethislast

public service

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on October 17, 2010

I’m porous with travel fever / But so happy to be on my own.

– Joni Mitchell

Tonight’s dinner: Eggplant lasagna. Yum, yum!

Who knew I was so tired that I’d take a 3.5 hour nap this afternoon?! Surely not I!

Most PCVs share the opinion that Americans should perform some type of public service when they are young adults. One PCV presented three (popular) options to choose from:

  • Peace Corps
  • AmeriCorps
  • Military

The first two options are voluntary because 1) admittedly, not everyone is willing to uproot him/herself from America and live in a foreign country, learn a new language, and adapt to a new culture for two years and 2) some AmeriCorps positions are just as challenging. The third option, military, would be for those unwilling to serve in either the first two. Yes, I suppose the third could be considered “voluntold” but it’s still an honest way of completing public service.

Perhaps this is just an occurrence within my region, but I’m surprised by how much talk goes on about joining a branch of the military as a officer after PC service ends. Come to think of it, I’m surprised by the number of people I know who have demonstrated interest in joining the military via officer training programs.

Leave a Reply

