makethislast

Peace Corps: in service

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on October 25, 2010

Considering how frequently I pack nowadays – or now every few days – one would think I’m much quicker about it. Well, I’m more organized about it now if I’m not yet speedy with it. That’s one step in the right direction, yes?

I didn’t pack a lot this time, I’m just going to be gone for two weeks. Besides, I’ll come back with less than I’m taking (inshallah). Speaking of which, which of the books I’m reading do I take as my travel companion: The Audacity of Hope, Middlesex, or Spain?

Live to travel or travel to live?

Today’s errands – okay, and some procrastination – have left me too tired to write a long post. As such, I offer you a few fabulous words given to (or heard by) me throughout today. I have such wonderful friends – enjoy!

Andrea: It’s a busy day. My personal life is hanging by a thread, that’s all.

Nigel: Well, join the club. That’s what happens when you start doing well at work, darling. Let me know when your whole life goes up in smoke. That means it’s time for a promotion.

– Devil Wears Prada

I had this job. I can check this off.

Like I’ve said before – you’re beautiful! Inside & out and what you are doing just confirms it 🙂 Anything from home you miss? would you like me to send you something?! i can.. no prob. 🙂

– Karen (aka the friend I so affectionally called “poopihead” in high school.)

Beautiful words from a long-time friend. (Why did I ever start calling her that? I’m so glad she’s still my friend after all these years!)

After a delayed flight and a super bumpy and long ride home, nothing made my morning better than reading my favorite blogs: makethislast, Caste Away, Kitty Non Grata, and erika eriknova at 1am at SFO..I miss and love you all 🙂

– Tara

Encouraging words from my lil’ sis.

I feel so bad for you no electricity is the worst. You will come out of this journey a better person.

– Emmy

Empathic words from the PCV before me. Inshallah, inshallah.

Exercise patience with others. In times of stress, our impatience surfaces. We may say things we don’t really mean or intend to say all out of proportion to reality. Or we may become sullen, communicating through emotion and attitude, rather than words, eloquent message of criticism, judgment and rejection. We then harvest hurt feelings and strained relationships. Patience is the practical expression of faith, hope, wisdom and love. It is a very active emotion. It is not indifference, sullen endurance or resignation. Patience is emotional diligence.

– Productivity Tip from Franklin Covey

Wisdom to carry with me going forward.

Leave a Reply

