makethislast

taste of the expat life

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on October 29, 2010

if D did it then I can do it!

– My cousin’s life motto

Oh goodness…for better or worse, haha.

4:00 am bedtime: Tonight, I attended an expat’s birthday party, where I had a lot of fun and met some fascinating people. It was held at a house near the medina; the homeowner remodeled it completely to modern living standards and style before renting the place out. It was gorgeous. Afterwards, I went to Prive Lounge. Hands down, most legit lounge I’ve been to since arriving in country. (Agadir has the most legit club.) Quite the underworld of Morocco: dress to impress clientele, fully stocked bar, good music. I must say, that’s where young, rich Moroccans go to party. Prive could be really fun if I went with a group of friends (instead of being one of less than a handful of non-Moroccans there).

I think about what it’d be like to live as an expatriate somewhere. I’ve considered dipping into it while serving in PC – that is, living in my village but socializing with expats when I’m out of it, say in Essaouira proper. It’s balancing two totally disparate worlds. The former is a relatively cheap lifestyle, while the latter can be expensive.  One’s homogenous with people who rarely travel outside the village; the other’s diverse in every sense of the world – citizens of the world, international travelers, a range of experiences and KSA in their CVs, fascinating stories abound.

I don’t sleep well in most hotels because I’m weary of the bug situation – bed bugs and mosquitos, more specifically. This means I usually don’t sleep well the first night of arriving somewhere new. Hoping to sleep well tonight!

Leave a Reply

