makethislast

i’m a tour guide in Rabat

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on January 16, 2011

An opportunity arose for me to be a tour guide to 14 PCVs from Niger. I showed them (and got to see for myself) Rabat’s medina and Oudaya, the place in which the city started and spread out from. There’s a big cemetery and old prison.

It was fun to be the “local” PCV who spoke (sort of) the “native” language. I introduced my group to misamon (fried dough, honey or cheese optional), candied nuts, Moroccan sandwiches, and smoothies. Taking these PCVs around, exchanging service stories, definitely made me appreciate my post in Morocco that much more.

Here’s what I learned about PC service in Niger:

  • PCV monthly living allowance more than what they need to live on.
  • PCVs can afford fruits but fruits aren’t available to purchase (fruits and fruit smoothies/juices are largely available in Morocco).
  • PCVs live off rice and millet for 2 years.
  • All females cover their hair and wear skirts (whereas I wear pants majority of the time in my site. Actually, I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve worn a skirt in my final site. Soooo different from the US.)
  • PCVs get 4 days a month for “leisure” (whereas PCVs in Morocco get weekends off).
  • PCVs in Niger take malaria pills and sleep under mosquito nets throughout service and must keep taking malaria pills a month after service.
  • Niger is a landlocked country. My group was so happy to see the beach and touch the Atlantic Ocean. I am so lucky that my site is only an hour away from the Atlantic Ocean.
  • PCVs in Niger had tailors and could get clothes made for as cheap as the equivalent of US$4.
  • Modes of transportation in Niger: Motorcycles (“carrying” 6 passengers or trucks).
Leave a Reply

