makethislast

rainstorm and hail

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on January 26, 2011

A heavy rainstorm means the following things:

  • Listening for the hum of my refrigerator to determine whether the electricity is on
  • Squeegeeing out water that leaked into my bedroom and salon
  • Collecting rainwater…which, oddly, I’ve come to enjoy doing.
  • Oh, and maybe listening for loud thuds to tell me oranges are falling from my tree and accessible for me to eat!

Oh, it also hails in Morocco! How do I know this? I was trying to avoid getting pelted by hail in my house as I walked across the open courtyard. Haha.

One of the best care package items: Honey Bunches of Oats Just Bunches! One of my favorite things to snack on in the US is granola clusters. Yum, yum, yum – thank you mommy!

I’m having an off-PC afternoon (so FYI, this is more of me venting than anything).

First, I was notified that Mid-Service Medicals have been rescheduled. Not a big deal except that falls right in the middle of when I was hoping to go home to the US (yes!!!) for a few weeks.

Then I was reminded that politics can within/among volunteers. (Seriously?)

…so here I am.

And when I find myself in this mood – somewhat homesick, more so frustrated, and quite infrequently as in this has happened less than a handful of times since I arrived last March – what do I do?

I think ahead. I think about the future. Specifically about my post-PC future.

I think about who I am. And who I want to be. And not about who people want me to be. Because, after all, I’m not interested in being a people pleaser.

Okay, and I think a bit about the life I had before.

Happy moments.

Very happy moments.

Those ultimately lift my spirits. And bring a smile to my face.

And what do you know – the storm passes.

🙂

Leave a Reply

