makethislast

globetrotters, mind-freers

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on January 27, 2011

I can never be what I ought to be until you are what you ought to be.

– Martin Luther King, Jr., on his Interrelated structure of reality

The problem with the world is that we draw the circle of our family too small.

– Mother Teresa

I need you in order to be me and you need me in order to be you.

– Nelson Mandela, on “ubunto” work

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing there is a field. I’ll meet you there.

– Rumi

Globetrotters and globetrotting.

Specifically in relation to my life and the people in it. (Is it just me or do my posts inevitably conclude with me bringing things back to the people in my life? Anyway…)

My family and friends…most are not afraid – correction: they don’t let fear get in the way of them traveling to uncomfortable parts of the world. (Or maybe that’s just me…considering my current 2-year stint, haha). They’re willing to step out of their “element” for some time. Sure, it’s adventurous and thrilling, but there’s an element of getting in touch with humanity in that experience, no?

This is what I was thinking about yesterday.

There’s this dichotomy: those who travel outside of their “world,” or comfort zone, and those who don’t. What compels one group to do it and not the other?

I constantly think about this…”tipping point” shall we call it. Not only as it relates to travel either. Religion. Education. Political stances. I mean everyone knows someone who is on the “other side.”

TEDTalk: Elizabeth Lesser: “Take ‘the Other’ to Lunch”

Goal: To get to know one person from a group you have negatively stereotyped.

Conversation Guidelines:

–       Share some of your life experiences with me.

–       What issues deeply concern you?

–       What have you always wanted to ask someone from the “other side”?

It’s not about trying to persuade, dissuade, or argue. Simply listen.

I know there are impoverished people and places in the US. I know not everyone has the means to travel.

But…

I also know people who prescribe to the saying, “Where there’s a will there’s a way.”

I’d like to think I’m one of them.

Leave a Reply

