makethislast

sorority life in the village

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on February 18, 2011

NYT: China Expands Extrajudicial Methods Against Dissidents. China, oh, China…your efforts to save face are futile. Uneven “progress.”

One of the things I didn’t want my community (of women) at large see me do was toss out my fruit and vegetables scraps a few steps outside my house. I know I’m not doing anything wrong, after all I do travel with my non-biodegradable trash to Essa, but still…I guess I don’t like the idea of being seen littering.

Well, much to my…environmental conscientiousness, that’s exactly what happened this evening! I opened my front door, scrap bucket brimmed to the top, and who do I see? The train of women walking home from working at the argan cooperative! Leader of the pack was the one and only mother of my landlord. Hahaha.

Of course, whenever I see anyone significant witnessing me tossing my scraps, I take the time to say, “Trash of vegetables and fruits only.” But still…to have the entire sorority of Imi nTlit watch me as I tossed my garbage out…

…was nothing short of hilarious. Haha.

Yes, I get the last laugh on this one, ladies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

