makethislast

snowy on the Tishka pass

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on March 16, 2011

I bid a farewell to Agouim this morning.

Before going to my host family’s, I dropped into my friend’s CBT family, whose house is just across the way. More familiar faces, more smiles, more happiness. I chatted with Ijja, the mother, and said good morning to her daughters. I peeked into the bedroom to see Ya Ya, her son. It was SO nice to have a real conversation beyond greetings.

Inside my host family’s house, I was fed breakfast (of course). Wheat porridge, which is what I ate every morning before school during CBT. Yummy and warm.

Leaving Agouim, I hopped into a taxi that drove over the Tishka pass. Much of it was blanketed with snow. The sun was out part of the time. The melting water glistened as it ran downstream.

On the other side of the mountain, the rain would not let up.

I arrived in Kech and made my way to Sindi Sud. Observation: I get a lot less harassment when the clouds are overhead, the ground is wet and full of water, the air is cold, and I have on a beanie and big jacket.

After checking into the hotel, I went out for lunch. A few hours later, I’m delighted by the sound of my friend’s voice as it echos up the stairway. Sweet – my friends are here!!!

Dinner on J’maa El Fna. Catching up, endless stories.

Tiffany and Erik – welcome to Morocco! I’m so happy to have them here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

