makethislast

new time, old time, or sometime?

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on April 3, 2011

Daylight Saving Time, also known as “new time,”  kicked in at midnight.

My train was scheduled to depart at 2:50am. I arrived at the station at 2:50am.

Did the train leave on time? No.

What time did it finally leave the station? I’m not sure.

Why? Because it was well past 4:00am by the time I tumbled into an empty cabin (lHamdullah), stacked my belongings on the overhead racks, and made myself comfortable on the seats. My travel companions, two other PCVs working at the spring camp in Oujda, were similarly spread on the seats across from me. I slept some but not enough on the train.

The train’s estimated time of arrival (ETA) was 9:00am. We didn’t arrive until after 12:00pm. I was exhausted by the time we finally arrived at the Centre d’Accueil, I was exhausted.

My day consisted of: a meeting with the camp’s mudira (female director), lunch with the camp staff, a Marjane run, spring camp prep, and dinner. I’m calling it an early night, inshallah.

The time change doesn’t matter to 90% of the country, specifically the rural areas. People will still operate on the “old time.” Oh, Morocco, and your…inconsistent thus unreliable system.

Leave a Reply

