makethislast

talks on the road

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on April 14, 2011

“The life I left will still be there after two years. I’ll work again, I’ll get dressed up and go out with my friends again. I’ll enjoy the conveniences of life in America. But right now…right now, I’m walking on this never-ending dirt road in the hot desert heat. And I’m so happy. I’m happy with where I am right now. I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything.” – Me

It’s my last day in Tata. Monica and I walked to the gas station at the end of the road so that we could confirm what time the bus out of Tata would arrive tomorrow. Between 5:30 and 6:00am. Afterwards, we sat and enjoyed chilled sodas there.

I learned a lot from her today. Our conversation topics were insightful. I learned more about her, her family, and her upbringing in Los Angeles. While we grew up in the same city, our lives differed.

We exchanged stories about growing up ethnic-Americans. I gained some insight into the “black” vs. “African-American” identity. She learned about my transition from Los Angeles to UC Berkeley.

All in all, good heart to heart chats.

Leave a Reply

