makethislast

VAST Grant for Health Education approved!

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on April 22, 2011

This morning, I woke up from a wonderful dream. I was in a place with people I knew and it that had about twenty different things going on around me. In the midst of all the business, of all the moving people and parts, and old friend unexpectedly stopped, took a seat down in front of me, turned, and said, “I love you, Diana.”

What a beautiful feeling to wake up from.

The rest of my morning consisted of rearranging furniture in my house. At 1:00pm old new time, I went over to my host family’s house for Friday couscous. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve seen my host siblings so it was nice playing with them again. An adorable thing: my host siblings are very possessive of me. Whenever new kids come around, my host siblings make it a point to let the kids know that I am “theirs”. Today, Hasna, a little girl who I’ve never met before, tried to “claim” me as hers. Hayat, my youngest host sister, retorted with, “No! Diana is mine!” Hayat kept saying this all the way down the hill on the way to preschool.

After lunch, I made my way to Essa. When I arrived, rain was pouring. I hopped off the bus early, walked and was thus drenched by the rain, and met up with my fellow PCVs. In the process of eating gelato, I was greeted with good news: My request for VAST grant funding for a health education project during the Gnaoua Music Festival in June was approved! Funds will be deposited sooner than expected too! Yay!!!

Essa crew went out for a family dinner with the COSing PCVs from the region. We went to Belladino, the delicious Italian restaurant I went to for my birthday. Yum yum yumminess.

Leave a Reply

