makethislast

another post about food and my village

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on April 25, 2011

Little Fatima accompanied me to souk today. This might be becoming a ritual. We shall see. She knows my souk habits: green canvas bag and shopping list. This morning, Fatima saw that I was leaving (actually, I was just going to the toilet room) without a shopping list so she reminded me. Since I didn’t have one yet, I asked her to help me write a list as I checked my fridge. She says we’re like sisters. I will agree…at least for now. J I filled her in on what’s been going on in my “life” in the village: random knocks on my door, kids asking me for things (see below).

New purchase at souk: fresh honey! I’m pretty sure I got ripped off but I’m over it because I don’t see myself consuming the entire amount that I purchased anytime soon. Besides, I’ll just return the container to the same vendor the next time I need honey.

Breakfast: Apply cinnamon oatmeal. Real apple plus cinnamon and sugar.

Breakfast #2: Bread with fresh olive oil + salt + pepper + hot sauce. Cup of chamomile tea.

Lunch: Fried chicken and mashed potatoes.

Dinner: Fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and corn. Cup of chamomile tea with honey.

I haven’t been in site for a week and already people are asking me for my things. Why??

First, before I even stepped into my house, Mohammed (who regularly asks me for things) asks me for an orange. No.

This afternoon, Saadia comes to my door and asks me to give her any of my pants that I no longer want. “Okay, “ I said, thinking how absurd this was. Then she continues with, “When?” As in when will I giver her my pants. What??? I tell her, “One day, inshallah. I still want my pants.” Disappointed, she says a meek “okay” and walks away. Later on in the afternoon, she knocks on my door. Seeing that she’s woken me up from a nap, she still says, “C’mon, come to my house right now.” Really?? What???

What else…

Oh yes. My host father apparently took it upon himself to walk into my house when he saw the door ajar. Not only did he walk in unannounced but he proceeded to peek into every room in my house. What the heck??

People, I have another year here.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Imane Anbar said, on May 6, 2011 at 7:08 am

    Dear;
    You know how Morrocan People can Be (Very Annoying and Disturbing hhh)I Know because Even My Mom Disturbs Me Sometimes and makes me very ungry but I think about Positive stuff and Pretty things iin My liife & do things that I love!
    Just Be patiente Honey & Be positive Because some day you’re gonna leave thiis Country(We’re gonna miiss you so Mutch)But be suure that I Love like the Sister i never had^^
    XoXo Imane From Oujda

    • nauticalgal said, on May 6, 2011 at 9:17 am

      Imane, you are a sweetheart! Your note just made my day. 🙂 It’s too bad we don’t live closer to one another. Let me know if you ever visit Essaouira, I’d be happy to meet up with you there!


Leave a Reply

