makethislast

their dreams of America

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on April 27, 2011

In a few weeks, I’m going home (to America!) for  few weeks for some much needed R&R. Besides my family, PCVs, and a few friends back home, no one knows I’m going home. (Well, now my blog readers do.)

Anyway, why is it then that all everyone seems to have talked about today with me is America?

“When do you leave for America?”

“Are you taking me with America with you?”

“Marry me. Be my second wife so that you can take me to America with you. Morocco is a mess.”

It almost makes me wish for the “Chinese” identity again. At least then no one said take me back to China with you.

Really now, it takes more than people think to “make it” and “be successful,” Or, in the Moroccan mindset, “have money.” Dollar bills don’t grow on American trees.

Leave a Reply

