makethislast

hail storm in May?

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on May 12, 2011

Yes, you read right folks: It was straight up hailing during the bus ride from Azrou to Fes this afternoon.

The souk bus was one of the worst ones I’ve ridden and, let me tell you, it was leaky. As precipitation – both rain and hail – started to fall onto the bus, the water dripped and poured into the bus. Water streamed down the windows and onto the seats and floor of the bus.

Silver lining of the 9:00am – 5:00pm bus ride? The driver and attendant were nice!

I met up with the PCV in Rich for, oh, about five minutes during the bus stop. Note to self: Must visit Rich again. Mountains surround the village, making it a beautiful site.

Also…for lunch, I picked up a liver-and-fat sandwich from a grill stand at Azrou’s taxi station. I mainly went there because I saw a woman working at it. Hooray for women working outside of the house in Morocco! She stuff my sandwich with the fixin’s – lots of olives, onions, tomato sauce, and salt and pepper. All for the wonderful price of 10dhs. Oh, she also encouraged me to speak Tashleheit with her (even though it’s mostly Arabic there, I think).

Dinner at Cafe Clock. Hooray for quality time with quality friends!

Leave a Reply

