makethislast

East and West meet Middle East / Of, by, for 1%

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on May 14, 2011

As human beings, our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world – that is the myth of the atomic age – as in being able to remake ourselves.

– Gandhi

Being a PCV offers you many perspectives and, at various times in your service, you catch yourself appreciating, questioning, rejecting, and embracing all that you know. In short, it’s a cultural mind trip.

Where does that leave me? Well…

  • East represents the Chinese culture I was raised in.
  • West represents the American culture I grew into.
  • Middle East represents the culture I currently find myself in.

At the moment, I consider myself at the intersection of all three worlds and straddling all three cultures.

In some many ways, I could rail on Moroccoans. Endlessly. Goodness knows,  I do that as a stress reliever when I’m around other PCVs. I will say, however, that no matter how often I find myself jaded by Morocco, I still find myself humbled by the experiences I have here.

Case in point: today’s mostly enjoyable day in Casa trumped yesterday’s mostly exhausting day in Fes.

I’m happy I got to sit along the water’s edge today and listen to the waves crash along the wall. It helped wash away all the weight of the verbal harassment and cultural hurdles endured from these past few days.

I came across an interesting article in Vanity Fair: Of the 1%, by the 1%, for the 1%. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

