makethislast

…eventually, there’s a way

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on May 16, 2011

Somehow, you do end up where you want to go even though you often won’t get there the way you were planning to get there. Living proof of the saying “where there’s a will, there’s a way” in Morocco.

Tonight’s dinner: tomato+fresh greens salad, basil-chickpea pasta, and strawberry-ginger-melon smoothie. Quality time with Chef Adam Eldahan and Sidi Omar Josh Voges.

Lesson of the day: Do not accept all free rides.

Why?

Because sometimes one free ride results in several longer and more expensive rides.

Case in point: It was raining when I left Casa this morning. As I stood outside waiting for am empty taxi to drive by, an empty tour shuttle drove past me. Likely taking pity on the miskeena taromit (pathetic foreigner), the driver backed up, stopped, and offered me a ride to wherever I needed to go.

Speaking to him in Tashleheit, I told him I wanted to go to the bus station. He misheard me and instead took me to the train station. By the time he and I both realized where he was going, the shuttle was stuck in the middle of rush hour and it was too late to change directions.

“Okay fine,” I thought, “I’ll give the train a shot,” even though I’ve come to realize that taking a souk bus from Casa to Essa (and vice versa) is not only cheaper but also faster.

Too tired to rehash my entire day but here’s the gist of it: it cost me twice as much and a few hours more to get back to province than I would have liked. Regardless, I still was able to get to Essa in time to get a taxi, probably the last one of the day, to a PCV’s house, where a delicious dinner was waiting for me.

A good welcome home meal indeed.

Leave a Reply

