makethislast

a very PCV week

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on July 10, 2011

I’ve had very “Peace Corps” experiences in site these last few days:

  • Nothing says “good morning” like vomiting at 3 o’clock in the morning and not having running water to flush the vomit down the toilet. Luckily, I had water containers filled for this very reason – that is, no running water (not vomit clean up preparation). By the way, this was the first time I vomited in country – yay! major accomplishment, I’d say, in not vomiting sooner.
  • Sleeping on my roof because my house is too hot to sleep in at night.
  • Sporadic internet connection at best. Facebook doesn’t even load anymore. Surprisingly, Gmail has been loading better than Facebook.
  • Random stretches of no cell phone service. No incoming or outgoing calls or text messages.
  • Random bouts of no electricity. Luckily, these haven’t lasted very long.
  • Enlisted the help of the hanut man next door to help me change out my butagas tanks.
  • Cold showers in the afternoon for reprieve from the sizzling sun.
  • Hanging out with my host and adopted host families. Sharing candy with kids in the community.
  • Hand-washing everything.
  • Cleaning, sweeping, and taking down spider webs.
  • Taking down 20+ cockroaches. Enough said.
Leave a Reply

