makethislast

easing back into lmigrib

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on July 24, 2011

I returned to Morocco late last night, didn’t get to the Velleda Hotel until almost mid-night.

I had an unexpectedly yet pleasantly surprising day.

One of the newest representatives on the SIDA Committee arrived in Rabat yesterday as well. Mid-morning, we had crepes for brunch. Next, we took the tram to the PC office in Agdal. After a few hours in the air-conditioned lounge, we walked to Label Vie and along the main avenue in Agdal. Yes, I committed some retail therapy but, good news, it’s sale time!

In the evening, I met up with two good friends, PCVs from my staaj. We went to get ice cream, caught up, and watched as a protest went by us.

For dinner, we met up with two other PCVs and headed to Tian An Men, the Chinese restaurant in Rabat. The place was the busiest I’ve ever seen it – there were people eating at every table. There were two large tables occupied by two groups of Chinese patrons.

As I pulled the door open and walked in, I was surprised but didn’t forget my manners (reflex?) and greeted the Chinese patrons with “ni hao”s. Apparently, this being according to Adammy entrance caused quite the scene in the restaurant. All the Chinese patrons heads turned, looked at me, and didn’t stop until I plopped myself down at the table where my friends sat. I hardly noticed all the commotion. Haha.

Leave a Reply

