makethislast

embracing otherness

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on August 4, 2011

When we have access to both the intuitive, creative, and visual right brain and the analytical, logical, verbal left brain, then the whole brain is working. There is psychic synergy taking place in our own head. And this tool is best suited to the reality of what life is, because life is not just logical-it is also emotional.

– Stephen R. Covey

TEDTalk: Embracing otherness, embracing myself – Thandie Newton

I found myself in the following conversation on my way to my host family’s this evening.

Hasna, this 10-ish year old girl: When are you going to America?

Me: What?

Hasna: When are you going to America?

Me: Um…when I’m finished working here.

Hasna: If you go to America, when you come back, bring me a present.

Me, disbelieving what I think I just heard: Wha…aat did you say?

Hasna, her voice lowered so that the ladies nearby don’t hear thus scold her: Ka-do. Present. Bring me one.

Me, still in disbelief/pretending I don’t understand to see how far she’s willing to go with this: Kado…present. I don’t understand. I’ll go to America when I’m done working here.

Hasna, maybe embarrassed, maybe catching my voice growing louder, immediately changes her “intent”: When you go to America, say hi to your family for me.

Me: “Oh, okay.”

Let’s be clear on a couple things:

1)   I’m not close to this girl at all. I’ve seen her maybe ten times, not counting weddings, in my time here.

2)   The audacity of some of the people, young and old included, blow my mind. They are why I wear such ridiculous outfits in site. I am not made out of money. My family is not made out of money. Most people in America work to earn their money.

3)   I’d be slapped appropriately reprimanded by my mother, grandmother, and all of my aunts if I ever outright asked someone for a gift, especially one that’s less than deserved. In my family, we don’t ask for hand-outs. Rather, we’re taught to work hard and earn the things we want.

 

Leave a Reply

