makethislast

chick flicks

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on August 6, 2011

Chick flicks and rom-coms (romantic comedies)…

…sometimes you’re just in the mood to want to watch one. Or two. Haha.

Such was my mood this weekend. My selections included “Friends with Benefits” and “Something Borrowed.” Yes, I did enjoy both. I might even recommend them too.

Much to my dismay, life of late could be comparable to moments in both movies. Obvious exceptions: the immediate proximity of opposite gender friends, life in a city, money, sex, and well…wait, my life really doesn’t parallel any bits of these movies, haha.

Let’s see…where was I going with this? Oh yes, a bit and a tip about myself and wise words that I agree with:

  • Some people are really good at people watching and enjoying checking out people around them. I may dabble in people watching but, for the most part, I don’t check out guys. Or girls for that matter. It’s just not my style to do so. Something about judging a book by its cover that’s off putting. On the flip side, I don’t always notice when I’m noticed. Downside? Who knows…depends who’s doing the spotting I guess. In all honesty, it’s the boldness of making the first move, breaking the ice, starting a conversation that earns notice.
  • “Stuff gets f*cked up when the girl goes after the guy.” A PCV said that once and, well, I wholeheartedly agree. That line is so succinct yet it captures the sentiments so aptly that I find it unnecessary to elaborate on the point.

There was one more thing…oh yes.

By the end of service, PC will have given me 2+ years of singledom…maybe comparable to a meditative state. In a very atypically meditative environment. The good news is that there’s peace to be found in the center of this experience.

I dig it. J

Leave a Reply

