makethislast

time and trade-offs

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on August 16, 2011

You must master your time rather than becoming a slave to the constant flow of events and dements on your time. And you must organize your life to achieve balance, harmony, and inner peace.

– Brian Tracy

Highlights from tonight’s dinner conversation:

Man, asking me: Do you fast?

Me, ready to answer with my schpeal, but unexpectedly cut off.

Woman next to me, jumping into the convo to “save” me, asks the man: Do you pray?

Man: Are you married?

Me: No.

Woman next to me: Do you want to marry a Moroccan? You can marry him (pointing at second man).

Me: No…I came by myself, I’m leaving by myself.

Table erupts in laughter – yes!

I’m going to use that line now: I’m leaving the way I came – by myself!

This evening, I broke fast at a new house. Aicha, the grandmother invited me. In fact, she’s invited me to have tea many times and on each occasion, I’ve been on my way somewhere or in the middle of something so I had to decline. Finally, I made it over last night.

She’s…how to describe her? Spunky? Sassy? Fabulous?  Her spunkiness reminds me of my grandma’s spunk. She was attentive to her newest granddaughter, another characteristic of my grandmother.  Maybe I’ll just refer to her as My Favorite Aicha…because of all the Aicha’s I know right now, she really is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

