makethislast

rules of convention

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on September 5, 2011

Sometimes you have to break the rules around you to keep the rules within you.

– Martha Beck

What are the rules of convention?

If I question convention in my current context – rural community, Morocco, female – then clearly, I’m unconventional.

I realized on the taxi ride from Smimou back to my site that it’s conventional to be illiterate here.

It’s not unusual to see a man sitting in the front seat of a taxi trying to make out what a welfare statement says.

It’s not unusual to sit in a roomful of people watching an Arabic show only to realize that you’re not the only one who doesn’t understand what is being discussed on television.

It’s not unusual to wear layers of clothing when it’s hot outside.

Yes, I broke convention today. I only wore a ¾-length shirt on top today. ONE layer. Well, let’s not be absurd – I also had my scarf draped around my next.

 

Leave a Reply

