makethislast

(almost) swallowed a fly

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on October 4, 2011

That’s right – I almost swallowed a fly.

Flies are common in Morocco, especially when one lives in a house with an open courtyard. They fly in and out of every room and land on every piece of stationary item.

Tonight, a fly flew into my glass and subsequently drowned in the coffee that was in it. Caught up in what I was doing, I didn’t bother to look into my glass before taking a sip – I mean, does anyone usually need to do that??

Of course, once the coffee was in my mouth, I immediately felt something floating inside that wasn’t – shouldn’t – supposed to be there. I spat out the contents in my mouth and what do I find??

A dead – drowned – fly.

Ew, ew, ew.

Ew.

I couldn’t get that feeling out of my mouth for the rest of the night.

Ew.

Leave a Reply

