makethislast

oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on October 10, 2011

I can finally add oatmeal chocolate chip cookies to my Peace Corps list of achievements. Oh wait, isn’t that what the Volunteer Reporting Form (VRF) is for?

In that case, done. 🙂

The last two days were surprisingly draining on me.

Let’s see…the night before, I didn’t sleep until 3-something AM and naturally woke up at 7:00am.  I was very surprised…I expected myself to sleep in/longer.

Yesterday…I did some personal reflection and that proved unexpectedly emotionally cathartic. It was a really good session. I didn’t realize I had accumulated so much weight on my chest and shoulders until it all rolled off. I guess that’s what Morocco does to you, eh?

In the evening, I baked my long awaited, much anticipated oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Initially, I thought they were too sweet but I had a few today – okay, throughout the day – and they’re good! Mhmm!

Last night, I went to bed at 11pm, early for me as of late. This morning, had it not been for my host father’s random call at 7:30am and Little Fatima coming to get me for souk, I’m pretty sure I could’ve slept for another two hours.  I’m not one of those marathon sleepers but I still felt tired when I woke up. Even after doing some morning yoga.

So what did I do?

I returned to bed around noon, no alarm set,  and didn’t wake up until 2:00pm.  Ahh…it was blissful.

Lately, I’ve had many Morocco-inspired dreams, e.g., all my teeth literally falling out of my mouth. Last night/this morning was the first time that I had closer to normal dreams, e.g., grocery shopping with my mom at a supermarket and looking at cooked-and-ready-to-eat barbeque ribs. LHamdullah.

For the record, there are about four dozen cookies in my kitchen right now. I need to figure out what to do much most of them before they all end up in my stomach…not that I have a real problem with that idea or anything.

Time spent in the kitchen is quite wonderful. Last night, I consolidated many of the delicious things in life – butter, brown sugar, chocolate chips – into cookies.

The kitchen is my studio. Cooking is my art.

 

Leave a Reply

