makethislast

my family visits Morocco!

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on November 2, 2011

October 24-November 2: My mommy and brother came to visit me in Morocco!

Itinerary in brief: Casablanca (1 night) à Marrakech (1) à Ouarzazate (2) à Essaouira (2) à Imi nTlit (1) à Marrakech (2) à Casablanca

Highlights (in no particular order, except for the last point):

  • Walking to the arrival gate just as my family walked out the gate despite a one-hour train delay. Whew!
  • Good weather (minus the evening they arrived)!
  • Staying at an Ibis Hotel (finally!)
  • Macarons and cured ham from Paris – thank you brother!
  • Moleskin planner and Clinique product from America – thank you momma!
  • Delicious food (that I wouldn’t normally eat because it’d be completely out of my PCV budget!)
  • Private tour of Theatre in Kech
  • Traveling on the Tisska pass with my family. None of us threw up – yay!
  • My real family meeting my CBT host family. Everyone getting along. My host siblings being as adorable as possible.
  • My real family meeting my final site host family. My mother and I being dressed up (a la headdresses) as tislits (Berber brides).
  • Shopping (and bargaining) with my family and walking away with good deals.
  • Hailing 10 consecutive petit taxis in Marrakech, none of which would work the meter. (Welcome to my life.)
  • Speaking in Tashleheit and Arabic like my life depended on it.
  • Speaking Chinese and English. I haven’t spoken that much Chinese in a long time. It felt good speaking Chinese to my momma.
  • Staying at hotels, an urban PCV’s apartment, and my house in site.
  • Tour of a public hammam.
  • Private hammam + massage session with my mom.
  • Riding camels on the beach in Essaouira.
  • Showing my family the most significant places of my service.
  • My family meeting Volunteers, great people who have shaped my service.
  • Traveling in (rented) private vehicles!
  • My brother catching on to “inshallah”.
  • My brother’s inappropriate drinking joke when he was shopping for a leather bag.
  • My mother telling me how much Morocco, particularly the rural places, remind her of her childhood in Danang, Vietnam.
  • My mother being such a laid back traveler. Nothing really shocked her.
  • My mom and brother’s willingness to try anything and everything. One of the least stressful parts of the trip was finding places to eat. They also drank tap water – props to them!
  • “Host”ing my family…this really showed me how long I’ve been in Morocco and how accustomed to the culture I’ve become. Wow.
  • 9 days of quality time with my momma and brother. Absolutely priceless.

I could go on but I’ll stop the list here because there are plenty of pictures to remind me of the trip.

As I bid adieu to my mom and brother at the airport, it felt good to know that I’ll be setting food in America in just six months’ time…inshallah.

 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. heyitsrich said, on November 22, 2011 at 12:41 am

    I thought mom grew up in Hoi An?

    • nauticalgal said, on November 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm

      Da Nang…I’m pretty sure.

      • Ann said, on November 26, 2011 at 9:46 pm

        At Hoi An next to Da Nang…. French call Feipho. Vietnam travel guide have it.


Leave a Reply

