makethislast

pleasant surprises

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on December 9, 2011

“I’m one who returns kindness with kindness.”

– John, a random American I helped in Madrid

Today was full of pleasant surprises.

Food:

  • PB&J
  • Americano
  • cookies
  • Croissant mixte (ham and cheese)
  • Bocadillo de jamon
  • Hot chocolate (x 2)
  • Green fruit…that I grew up eating but don’t know the name of.

Places:

  • Museo Arte Publico
  • Plaza de Toros de Las Ventas (Bullfighting Stadium)
  • Parque del Buen Retiro
  • Museo del Prado

Madrid scores major points for making art accessible to the general public.

I was spotted by two familiar faces at the Prado! 🙂

I helped two lost American guys find their way to (a hostel near) Sol. As I munched on my (daily) jamon, I first saw then overheard the guys say they were lost. Since I sort of know my way around Madrid now – goshdangit, I LOVE Madrid – I gave them my map. (Okay, one of my many maps.) I didn’t need it, after all.

As Tommy went to check out a nearby hotel, John scribbles his name on a corner of the map, rips off the bit with his name on it, and hands it to me. “…if you ever need anything in New York.”

‘Tis the season…to be helpful and grateful.

Leave a Reply

