makethislast

listening and talking styles

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on January 7, 2012

One of the skills that I’ve honed during PC is listening.

People love to talk, especially when they have someone to talk to, so I take the liberty to sit back and listen. The more I listen, the more I hear.

I listen to the words people use as well as the way people use the words that come out of their mouth.

I’m fascinated by how people share information – what they say when they think no one is really listening. What they say when they don’t realize someone is listening and how they say it.

Overtime, repeated exchanges enable me to match a person to his or her talking style. They also reveal who is actually listening during a conversation, as opposed to actively talking and passively listening. Quite amusing.

Leave a Reply

