makethislast

materialistic and wasteful

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on January 15, 2012

Everyday, I’m reminded how much I don’t know and how much I’ve still got to learn and relearn.

This afternoon, my landlord sent one of his sisters to my house to retrieve a desk that has been here since I moved in. In fact, I’ve been using it to organize my clothes. At first, this irked me. I thought, “I’ve been using this the entire time that I’ve been here and renting this house. I’ve only got a few more months left. Does my landlord really need this now??”

I moved all of my belongings out of it, placed them on my bed, and helped his sister move the thing out of the house. My clothes remained on my bed for a few hours after which I moved them onto a sheet that I had laid on the floor.

Being the ever optimistic, I tried to look at the situation positively. “How?” I thought.

Then, as I was moving my clothes to the floor, it occurred to me: “I have more clothes to give away/leave behind than I thought – yes!!” Granted, some of the items are clothes that were given to me, so I will happily pass them along to the next Volunteer, or Moroccan, whoever claims them in a few months.

This made me start making a trash pile for things I could immediately start tossing out. Swiya b swiya/imik s imik, I will begin discarding the things I no longer need, i.e., used sheets of paper, old posters, etc.

It feels good to get rid of all this….”stuff.”

Peace Corps has taught me to live with less (though I admittedly still have more compared to the people in my community). I hope to accumulate even less wherever I go and whatever I do next.

Leave a Reply

