makethislast

I’m COSing early

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on February 28, 2012

For the last few weeks, I’ve been grappling with the option to COS early, up to 30 days to be exact. It’s an option that PC offers PCVs.

After much deliberation, I finally decided to take it.

The plan was to surprise my mom by showing up at her house in early April, a month before PC’s projected COS date of May 5, 2012 for my stage. I had told my brother and one of my cousins. During COS conference, I had also started telling others. Then again, by that time, many people in my stage were opting to COS early, some taking the full 30 days advance and others less.

Up until earlier today, I was still on the fence about telling my mommy in advance. I mean, c’mon, how wonderful would be to show up at home? Anyway, I cracked and told my mom, partly because I know she’s been thinking about traveling herself but also because she asked.

My email to my momma:

Surprise Mommy!

I’m coming home in April! I’ll be landing in LAX on April 5 at 2:15pm!

My mom’s reply to me:

Surprise.. Surprise…. Exciting  and exciting

Now, what  cell phone  you like ?  what car should be ? what else ?

I’m still a PCV in the PCV lifestyle/mindset so I’ll just admit now that it’s overwhelming to think about a cell phone and car in the US. Cell phone – one that works? Car – one that works? Is public transportation an option? Um, I think I’ll crawl black into my hole in the rural village for a bit longer.

Let the readjustment process begin…

Oh, and my mommy’s adorable. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

