makethislast

if you were to do PC over again…

Posted in Uncategorized by Diana on March 28, 2012

Funny story of the day: My PCV friend’s friend who is an American non-PCV male tried giving me a hug as he was leaving in my site. His movement made it closer to a hug than the Englishman’s did; even so, I managed to push/gentle nudge his enclosing arms away from me and stand firm about not hugging any males by sticking out my hand for a handshake.

Yesterday, as I sat around waiting for some type of transportation to drive through my village that would take me to Smimou, I thought about a couple questions that I anticipate being asked after I return to the US:

(1) Knowing what you know now, would you do Peace Corps again?

(2) Would you change anything about your Peace Corps service?

To the first question, my answer is: Yes, I would do my service again, my service being the one I am just about to complete. No*, I would not go on a second tour of Peace Corps service. (*at least in the foreseeable future. I mean, never say never, right?) It’s not that I didn’t enjoy it because I did – read my PC blog, createmyworld.wordpress.com – rather, it’s because one of my goals was to join the Peace Corps.

To the second question, my answer is again two-fold. On the one hand, no – my time in Morocco was the way it was because that’s how I chose to shape my service. On the other hand, yes – there’s so much that could still be done. So much that, in hindsight, I see I could have done. Then again, it’s also in hindsight that you see how things could have been different, isn’t it?

Perspective…that’s one of the many things that Peace Corps has taught me to appreciate.

It’s my second-to-last night in site. I gave away my things to a PCV, her friend, and Little Fatima’s family today. Except for the items I plan to pack up, this house that I’ve rented for the past two years is barren of all things mine. Well, except for my two-year calendar. I’ve decided that my PC calendar will be the last thing that I take down. How do I feel about PC at this moment?

Incredible.

If you allow yourself to make it through these two years, through the highest of highs and the lowest of lows and then allow yourself to build yourself up, this time on more secure footing than before, then you will come out of the experience on the other side.

I could go on and on about my experience and all that I’ve learned but, in the interest of keeping this short, I will say two final things:

(1) Peace Corps was/has/is a personal experience – that was my intent and that is what I achieved.

(2) Peace Corps…what an incredible journey.

Leave a Reply

